At the end of THE AVENGERS, fans were treated to the premiere of Thanos within the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Ever since then, Infinity Stones have been showing up within different Marvel movies. Infinity Stones are powerful artifacts, dating back to the beginning of time. Thanos (Josh Brolin) already has the Infinity Gauntlet. He now will be hunting down the Infinity Stones to complete his quest of conquering the universe.

There are six Infinity Stones within the MCU. As of right now, there are only five that have been revealed throughout the 16 movies. While fans may know which objects count as Infinity Stones, they may not know which Infinity Stone the object is. Here, fans can know the identities, whereabouts, and powers of the Infinity Stones.

The Tesseract/Space Stone

Infinity Stones
Infinity Stone #1

The Tesseract was first seen briefly, in the post credits of THOR. The first major appearance was in CAPTAIN AMERICA: THE FIRST AVENGER. It was then used in Loki’s invasion of Earth in THE AVENGERS.  The Tesseract allows its user to control space itself. It can create portals from one end of the universe to another.

It was initially placed in Odin’s (Anthony Hopkins) trophy room until it went missing on Earth. HYDRA discovered it in World War II which led to the plot of CAPTAIN AMERICA: THE FIRST AVENGER. Eventually, HYDRA was defeated, and the Tesseract landed in the hands of S.H.I.E.L.D.


Decades later, S.H.I.E.L.D. director Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson), secretly tried to use the Tesseract in the creation of a new class of energy-based weapons. Nick Fury was going to use the Tesseract to power certain weapons to combat threats that normal weapons can’t harm.

Loki then stole it from S.H.I.E.L.D. and used to it open a portal through space, which brought his alien army the Chitauri to invade the Earth. This invasion was, of course, stopped by the Avengers in their first movie. Afterward, Thor returned the Tesseract to Asgard, where it resides once again in Odin’s vault.

The Tesseract was last seen being brought to Odin’s throne room by Thor and Loki.

The Aether/Reality Stone

Infinity Stones
Infinity Stone #2

The Aether or the Reality stone was seen in THOR: THE DARK WORLD. It was seen in a liquid state more than an actual stone, but it still counts as an Infinity Stone. The power this stone possesses is unknown, though from what was shown in the movie, it could alter the nature of reality itself.

In the film, the lord of the Dark Elves known as Malekith (Christopher Eccleston), tried to use it to take out all light in the universe. Bor, Thor’s grandfather, put a stop to him and took possession of the Aether, and hid it away on a secret planet.

It was not heard from since until THOR: THE DARK WORLD. After Thor had stopped Malekith, the stone was brought to The Collector’s collection. It was delivered to the Collector because the Tesseract was already in Odin’s trophy room. Having two Infinity Stones close together is too dangerous.

The Orb/Power Stone

Infinity Stones
Infinity Stone #3

The Orb or the Power Stone was first seen in GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY. Star-Lord (Chris Pratt) grabbed the orb from the dead planet Morag. While trying to sell the orb, he encounters others who tell him that it is one of the six Infinity Stones.


He also learns that it is the Power Stone which can grant destructive capabilities to the owner. The stone was so powerful that just touching it could cause the user to explode. After stopping Ronan from destroying the planet Xandar, The Guardians handed the stone to the Nova Corps.

Loki’s Staff/The Mind Stone

Infinity Stones
Infinity Stone #4

The Mind Stone made its first appearance in THE AVENGERS. It wasn’t revealed to be the Mind Stone until AVENGERS: AGE OF ULTRON. Loki’s (Tom Hiddleston) staff, which contained the Mind Stone, was given to him by Thanos himself. The team gave Loki the power to control the mind of others after it came into contact with them.

In AVENGERS: AGE OF ULTRON, the stone was freed from the scepter and was used to create The Vision (Paul Bettany). The Vision was created to help the Avengers defeat Ultron (James Spader). The Mind Stone currently resides in The Vision’s head, keeping him alive.

The Eye of Agamotto/Time Stone

Infinity Stones
Infinity Stone #5

The Eye of Agamotto is a magical artifact that helps the Sorcerer Supreme protect the Earth for centuries. In DOCTOR STRANGE, it is said that the first Sorcerer Supreme, Agamotto himself, put the Time Stone into a pendant. The Time Stone can give the user the power to control time itself.

READ: Did you enjoy DOCTOR STRANGE? Check out CV’s review!

The Eye is kept hidden within the ancient library of Kamar-Taj. Doctor Strange (Benedict Cumberbatch) used the time stone to bargain with Dormammu and kept him from conquering the dimension. It was last seen safe in possession of Doctor Strange, Sorcerer Supreme of Earth.

The Soul StoneInfinity Stones

The Soul Stone has not made an appearance in the MCU yet — though there are rumors of where it might appear. One rumor is that it might appear in THOR: RAGNAROK in possession of Hela, Asgardian Goddess of Death. It would make sense for Hela to have the Soul Stone seeing as she controls who goes into the Underworld.

While it may be unclear who is in possession of the Soul Stone at the moment, we know that Thanos will be searching for all of the stones. If Thanos gets his hands on all six stones, then the Marvel Cinematic Universe will never be the same.

Infinity War Speculation

AVENGERS: INFINITY WAR is scheduled to come out May 4, 2018.

Everything that the MCU has been building towards for ten years will finally come into effect. Most of the pieces have been put into play except for one. The Soul Stone will most likely be revealed in either BLACK PANTHER or THOR: RAGNAROK. When the Soul Stone is revealed, then the Infinity War will begin.

Until then, we will have to wait and see how the story plays out.

Show ComicsVerse some Love! Leave a Reply!