The Harvey Awards honor comic book excellence and have done so since 1988. They’ve seen winners like Alan Moore (writer WATCHMEN), Neil Gaiman (writer; THE SANDMAN), SEX CRIMINALS (Fraction, Zdarsky), YOUNG AVENGERS (Heinberg, Cheung), and BATMAN: THE KILLING JOKE, among others. This year the awards were presented at Baltimore Comic Con on September 26, 2015. The awards are below the link, organized by the people involved, the comics themselves, and special awards.

Panel from Rachel Rising #1
Panel from RACHEL RISING #1 (2014 Harvey Award Winner)


Best Letterer- Jack Morelli, AFTERLIFE WITH ARCHIE (Archie)

Best Colorist: Dave Stewart, HELLBOY IN HELL (Dark Horse)

Best Inker: Danny Miki for BATMAN (DC)

Best New Talent: Chad Lambert for KILL ME (Dark Horse)

Best Cover Artist: Fiona Staples for SAGA (Image)

Best Writer: Mark Waid for DAREDEVIL (Marvel)

Best Artist: Fiona Staples for SAGA (Image)

Best Cartoonist: Terry Moore for RACHEL RISING


Best Syndicated Strip or Panel: DICK TRACY, by Joe Staton & Mike Curtis (DC)

Best Online Comics Work: THE PRIVATE EYE by Brian K. Vaughan, Marcos Martin, & Muntsa Vicente

Best American Edition of Foreign Material: BLACKSAD AMARILLO by Juan Díaz Canales & Juanjo Guarnido

Best New Series: SOUTHERN BASTARDS by Jason Aaron & Jason Latour

Best Original Graphic Publication for Younger Readers: LUMBERJANES! by Noelle Stevenson (Boom!)

Lumberjanes #3
Lumberjanes #3

Best Graphic Album Prev. Published: MOUSE GUARD: BALDWIN THE BRAVE & OTHER TALES by David Peterson

Best Domestic Reprint Project: Jim Steranko for NICK FURY AGENT OF SHIELD Artist’s Edition (Marvel)

Best Biographical, Historical, or Journalistic Presentation: TMNT: THE ULTIMATE VISUAL HISTORY


Best Original Graphic Album: Jim Henson’s THE MUSICAL MONSTERS OF TURKEY HOLLOW (Boom!)

Best Continuing or Limited Series: SAGA by Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples (Image)

Best Single Issue or Story to: BREAKINT OUT, DARK HORSE PRESENTS #35 (Dark Horse)


Special Award for Humor in Comics: Chip Zdarsky for SEX CRIMINALS (Image)

Jules Feiffer, Will Eisner join the ‘Harvey Kurtzman Hall of Fame’

Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award: Russ Heath

Award for Excellence in Publication: LITTLE NEMO – DREAM ANOTHER DREAM by Andrew Carl & Josh O’Neil

Sex Criminals #3 (Fraction, Zdarsky)
SEX CRIMINALS #3 (Fraction, Zdarsky)

Congratulations to the award-winners!



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *